Published 07 December 2017

The Electoral Commissioner of SA has certified the elector representation review undertaken by the City of Tea Tree Gully.

Council was legislatively required to undertake a review of its composition and ward structure as part of an Elector Representation Review process. This review involved looking at a range of options, and included two stages of community engagement in which a total of 331 responses were received.

On 8 August 2017, Council endorsed a preferred proposal for submission to the Electoral Commissioner of SA. This included retaining a Mayor elected by the community, with twelve ward councillors across 6 wards (with a slight variation to Hillcott, Pedare and Steventon ward boundaries).

This decision reflected the majority of responses received from the community.

The new structure will come into effect at the next periodic Local Government Election in November 2018.