Emergencies are an inherent part of the Australian environment. While we cannot prevent events such as floods, storms and earthquakes, we can all take action to minimise the risks they pose to our community.

In the state of South Australia, there are dedicated lead agencies for each hazard/emergency. The list below shows some of the hazards we may face and which agency is in charge. 

Types of emergency 

Bushfire – Country Fire Service

Urban Fire – Metropolitan Fire Service

Storms and flood – State Emergency Service

Extreme heat – State Emergency Service

Earthquake – South Australia Police


For more information on other hazards and for general information on emergencies refer to sa.gov.au via the link below.

Button for emergencies page


For disaster / emergency information relating to the City of Tea Tree Gully please refer below.